The Florida House Inn
The Florida House Inn, built in 1857, located in the heart of the historic district of Fernandina Beach, remains the oldest continuously operational hotel in the State of Florida with a very rich history in southern hospitality. Originally built by David Yulee, who was attempting to build a railroad from Fernandina Beach to Cedar Key. The railroad was almost complete when the Civil War began. The Inn was then purchased by Major Leddy and his wife. Over the years, the Inn has withstood many hardships and still stands as the matriarch on the Island. The Inn has housed many guests throughout the years including Ulysses S. Grant, Jose Marti, Henry Ford, Laurel Hardy, Mary Pickford and more.
• 17-Room historic Inn in the heart of the downtown Fernandina Beach historic district- located on 3rd Street
• Outdoor wooden bar to the courtyard gardens featuring the Grand Oak Tree, estimated to be over 350 years old
• Dine, dance, and say “I do” beneath the stars
• Antique pine floors throughout the estate including the original parlor room
• The Mermaid Bar features hand-crafted specialty cocktails using fresh and local ingredients
A Minimum of 10 rooms per night is required for a discounted room block. The group will be responsible for 90% of the daily contracted rooms at the time of the contract. During peak season a two-night minimum is required over weekends. Reservation cut-off date 45 days prior to arrival.
The Lesesne House
The Lesesne House (pronounced Le Sane) is a Classical Revival style residence located in the heart of downtown Centre Street. Built in 1860 by Dr. John F. Lesesne circa, Lesesne is one of the oldest homes in Fernandina Beach. Constructed of hand-hewn lumber fastened with wooden pegs, Lesesne is one of the major points of interest in the Historic District, listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. A seamless blend of 18th-century charm and modern sophistication. Having served exclusively as a private residence for 165 years, The Lesesne House, also referred to as the “Crown Jewel of Centre Street”, will be available for private events beginning in the Fall 2021. The structure has been meticulously restored and furnished. Formal dining rooms and parlors showcase a collection of museum-caliber artwork and antiques, while a two-century-old Live Oak tree is the centerpiece of sunlit courtyards, manicured lawns and an elegant carriage house.
• Open lawn space for ceremony/reception
• Several intimate parlor rooms inside featuring original heart pine floors, fireplaces and gorgeous chandeliers
• Large second floor room for bridal parties as well as handsomely appointed grooms quarters
• Winding pathways through gorgeous gardens
• Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
The Beech Street Grill
The Beech Street Grill "Bell House" and the home of Captain William Bell. Built in 1889 as a wedding gift for his bride, the Eastlake landmark is noteworthy for its bay windows and two-story verandahs ornamented with Chippendale style balustrades. The home is constructed of heart pine and has a coined-seam metal roof. The marble mantels and fireplace facades were imported from Italy, and finishing touches came from as far away as England and Belgium. Each space was meticulously designed to create a modern twist on a historic backdrop, while bringing together the best of the old and new through atmosphere and design.
•Local full-service bar & restaurant, Beech Street Grill, located at the entrance of our historic district, Fernandina Beach
•Spacious open courtyard with private dining for special events
•The Bell House was once known as “The Grand Dame of Beech Street” named by a local pilot as a wedding gift to his bride
•Antique fireplaces and fixtures imported from England and Belgium are featured throughout the estate
The Down Under
In 1923 the Down Under land was used for harvesting sap from pine trees for the turpentine industry and oyster houses operated for years in the late 1930's. A fish camp which sold bait to local anglers, was built on the site of our existing boat dock in the late 1950's. In the early 1980's an old fish camp on the property was remodeled as a restaurant and in 1982 the Down Under was opened. It has grown from 44 seats to now over 200, but still maintaining that very special southern nautical atmosphere. Our unique location offers an ambiance of marina wildlife that includes a variety of birds and other fascinating creatures including Alligators, Manatees, Sea Otters, Dolphins, Sea Turtles, Tarpon and many, many more. So sit back and enjoy a little piece of Fernandina's history, you never know who or what you may see floating down the river. We're glad you're here, and hope you enjoy.
•Full-Service waterfront restaurant located at the iconic intersection of Coastal Highway A1A and the Intracoastal Waterway
•Amazing views of the Intracoastal Waterway, Amelia Sound and surrounding marsh and wildlife
•Waterfront deck with outdoor seating overlooking the floating dock (accessible via boat)
•Private event space on the second floor overlooking ICW
•Ample on-site parking
•Covered Pavilion, great for Low Country Boils and Oyster Roasts